Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

setup spektrum DX6i

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2019, 07:10 PM
Wildman62

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default setup spektrum DX6i

Has anyone put a spektrum DX6i in a Heng Long leopard 2A6? If so is there a diagram or instruction on how to it.

Thank You
Wildman62
Old 11-16-2019, 07:44 PM
RichJohnson

Received 374 Likes on 238 Posts

You cannot just put a real hobby grade radio into a henglong or a taigen. They dont work like that. The tank control board is part of the radio system receiver. To upgrade to a hobby grade radio you would need to upgrade the tank control board to a hobby grade one as well like a clark, an IBU2 or install a tamiya system from one of their tanks.
Old 11-18-2019, 09:40 PM
Wildman62

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thank You for the information I'm new at this
Old 11-19-2019, 04:36 AM
jarndice

Received 64 Likes on 60 Posts

Until very recently both Heng Long and Taigen used a "Closed Radio System" which negated the ability of just changing Transmitter/Receiver as you would with an "Open" System ,
Taigen introduced the V2 control Board followed a little later by the V3 MFU,
These have a built in 6 channel feed that allows the use of an aftermarket Transmitter/Receiver although even with the "Tailored" Sound Card and their "Affordability" In my opinion if you want a control board that really does offer all the programmable bells and whistles then choose an IBU2/3, Elmod, Clark MFU and the transmitter/Receiver of your choice,
The biggest single shortcoming of the Spectrum Dx6i is the lack of a rotary control (Potentiometer) so you are going to have to mod your Spectrum or use the Tanks volume control rather than having a remote sound facility..
There are some really good Transmitters available for a lot less money with many more programmable switches and knobs than a Spectrum Dx6i and much more user friendly as well.